REDNEPS | blog

Bang – Fall Arrives

Posted in NYC by Andrew Spender on October 13, 2009

The Fall is my favorite season here in the US. Even though I’ve been here for quite a few years now, I’m always amazed how fast it arrives compared to the gradual, grim onset of Autumn in the UK. Now that I cycle to work, I also get to experience the transition first hand. I literally watch the switch from Summer to Fall happen overnight. On Monday last week, I cycled to work at 6:30am in shirt sleeves. On Tuesday, I needed a jumper. On Wednesday, I was wearing a Barbour jacket and by Thursday I had gloves on. There’s no turning back now until May. Urgh.

This photo shows the transformation of the trees from vibrant green to luminous yellow. It will take only a week or so for a tree like this to change color. This tree outside my office is about 3 or 4 days into the change. Note the yellow leaves at the outer edge and the greener leaves nearer to the trunk.

Fall in Connecticut

Fall in Connecticut

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aunty Lou & The Man said, on November 2, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    In case you have forgotten it is called Autumn!


Leave a Reply

