REDNEPS | blog

PS1

Posted in Uncategorized by Andrew Spender on July 19, 2009

Modern art; love it or hate it? I enjoy a tumultuous affair with it. Often, it jars me, evoking strong feelings or causes me to think about something entirely differently. Sometimes, I just see a load of rubbish. Sadly, PS1, in Queens, is like a landfill full of it. The space is evocative due to it’s prior life as a school, but the limited range and quality of the art meant that it was a very quick visit. I also carried a negative feeling with me into the building because I couldn’t help but get the message of “oasis of culture within; people of Queens keep out” from it’s 10 feet high reinforced concrete walls that surround the gallery. I’ll keep an eye out to see who exhibits at the gallery in the future, but it’ll take a good reason to carry me back over the Manhattan bridge.

PS1 Stickers on Bike Stand

PS1 Stickers on Bike Stand

Leave a Reply

